To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Yuma County, Arizona Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Yuma County, Arizona)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Yuma County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Yuma County, Arizona
Yuma County, Arizona
Map
Map of Arizona highlighting Yuma County
Location in the state of Arizona
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1864
County Seat Yuma
Courthouse
ArizonaYumaCourthouse.jpg
Address 250 West 2nd Street, Suite B
Yuma, Arizona 85364

 

County Information[edit | edit source]

Yuma County, Arizona Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1888 1863 1888 1863 1864 1863 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in July 1909. General compliance by 1926

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County has Yuma as its seat and the County was created November 9, 1864. The County is located in the southwestern area of the state.[2]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

Yuma County was created 10 Nov 1864 as an original county of Arizona.[3]

  • County seat: Yuma [4] Named after the Yuma Indians. Look for records in Yuma County.

Yuma County, Arizona is in the far southwest corner of the state. Principal communities include Yuma and Somerton. It extended to Parker in the north until 1983 when the northern half of the county split off to form La Paz County.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

See Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. However, many of the historical registers have suffered some environmental damage. Mildew and mold have affected the legibility of some books and case file contents.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[15]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Native American communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns

Footnotes[edit | edit source]

‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

La Paz County, Arizona | Maricopa County, Arizona | Pima County, Arizona | Imperial County, California

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Yuma, Arizona online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arizona Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites may have additional information on Yuma County cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Yuma County, Arizona Genealogy census records online, see: Arizona Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Yuma

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Yuma County (Arizona). County Recorder, (Main Author), Powers of attorney (Yuma County, Arizona), Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2002.

Film Notes
Note
Location
Film
Index to grantor, v. 1, 1863-1882, 1889, 1904
FHL US/CAN Film
FHL 2320096 Item 3
Index to grantor, 1865-1915, 1921, 1934, 1952
FHL US/CAN Film
FHL 2320096 Item 5
Index to grantor, 1910-1969
FHL US/CAN Film
FHL 2320096 Item 6
Index to grantee, v. 1, 1863-1881, 1889, 1904
FHL US/CAN Film
FHL 2320096 Item 4
Index to grantee, 1910-1969
FHL US/CAN Film
FHL 2320096 Item 7
Powers of attorney, v. C-D (p. 1-271), 1934-1945
FHL US/CAN Film
FHL 2320096 Items 8 - 9
Powers of attorney, v. D (cont. p. 270-end) 1945-1948
FHL US/CAN Film
FHL 2293272 Item 1


Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Yuma County, Arizona Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Riverside CountyImperial CountyBaja CaliforniaSonoraLa Paz CountyMaricopa CountyPima CountyAZ YUMA.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Arizona Newspapers[edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Yuma County, Arizona Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Subjects Search for Arizona, Yuma - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Public Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Yuma County Court House
168 S 2nd Ave
Yuma, Az 85364
Phone:520-329-2170

Clerk Superior Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1863 [16]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Introduction to Family History Centers

Yuma Arizona
4300 W 16th St
Yuma, Yuma, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 928-782-6364

This is not a mailing address. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Genealogical Society of Yuma Arizona (GSYA)
P.O. Box 7025
Yuma, AZ 85366-7025

http://gsya.org

Arizona Historical Society, Rio Colorado Division at the Heritage Library

350 Third Ave.
Yuma, Arizona 85364
Telephone: 928-314-2463


Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

  • 1864-1902 - 695 marriages from 2 Apr 1864 to 17 Mar 1902 are listed on the Western States Marriage Index. Some of the early marriage volumes are difficult to read and the writing is hard to decipher due to environmental damage.

Places[edit | edit source]

Araby Fishers Landing Kinter Palomas Tacna
Asher Fortuna Kofa Tyson
Aztec Fortuna Foothills Laguna Roll Wellton
Blaisdell Gadsden Ligurta San Dionysio (hist.)
Colfred Growler Mohawk Yuma Indian Homestead
Dateland Horn Noah Somerton
Dome Hyder Norton Steam
Engesser Junction Kim Owl Stoval

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yuma County, Arizona. Page 56-57 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 52.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Yuma, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yuma_County,_Arizona 7/10/2017.
  3. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Williams 108-110
  6. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  7. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
  8. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  9. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  10. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, pp. 1031-1037; Van Zandt, 11, 29, 162
  11. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, ch. 245[1854]/p. 575; Van Zandt, 162; Walker and Bufkin, 21-22
  12. N.M. Terr. Laws 1854, 4th assy. /p. 57
  13. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
  14. Ariz. Laws 1983, 36th assy., ch. 291/pp. 1089-1094
  15. Wikipedia contributors, "Yuma County, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yuma_County,_Arizona, accessed 4 March 2019.
  16. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yuma County, Arizona p. 57. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.