Årdal Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
The printable version is no longer supported and may have rendering errors. Please update your browser bookmarks and please use the default browser print function instead.

Guide to Årdal, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Årdal Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Otredal prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Bygland
Kommune Bygland
Skifteretten Setesdal
Tinglag Bygland
Fogderi Sætersdal
Sorenskriveri Sætersdal
Skipreide Setesdal


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Digitized images of parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

62 Aasen,

63 Bakke, 66 Bø,

56 Dale,

55 Frøirak,

58 Greibrok,

59 Hofstad, 67 Horverak,

65 Klep,

57 Lande, 54 Langerak,

68 Neset, 61 Nevesjordet,

63 Stareholtet,

67 Troin, 64 Tveitaa,

69 Vassenden, 60 Vraalsplads,

67 Ystejordet

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Vestre Råbyggelag judicial district
*1697-1862 Family History Library

Setesdal judicial district
*1697-1909 Digitalarkivet
*1856-1881 Family History Library

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names