Haringey, London Borough Genealogy
Guide to London Borough of Haringey ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
History[edit | edit source]
As with most of the other London Boroughs, the British Government action of 1965 destroyed all traces of the original settlements from the point of view of Family History. Researchers should instead consider researching Harringay in its original county of Middlesex, no longer a functioning county.
In the Ice Age Harringay was on the edge of a huge glacial mass that reached as far south as Muswell Hill.
Prior to the Romans' arrival, Haringey was part of a large area covering Essex and Middlesex which was home to a Celtic tribe called Trinobantes.
The Romans' presence is evidenced chiefly by the roads they built through the area. Tottenham High Road was part of the main Roman thoroughfare of Ermine Street. There have also been Roman finds in the borough which suggests possible Roman settlement.
In the 5th and 6th centuries the Saxon invasions brought Haering, the chieftain whose name still lives on today in local place names.
The area was then largely covered with forest until the Middle Ages when it was developed as agricultural land. From 1750 to 1880 Harringay experienced the pressures of the burgeoning population in London. Gradually inroads into the pastoral landscape were made, first for the leisure and then for the settlement of Londoners.
Haringey remained a rural area until the 18th century when large country houses close to London became increasingly common. The coming of the railways from the mid-nineteenth century onward led to rapid urbanization; by the turn of the century much of Haringey had been transformed from a rural to an urbanized environment. = By 1900 Harringay had become a respectable outer London suburb with all the land built over and only Finsbury Park remaining as a hint of its former character. Identified as a single unified urban area from 1900, Harringay was originally split between the old boroughs of Hornsey and Tottenham with the boundary between the two running slightly to the west of Green Lanes
The unification of the two boroughs in 1965, as the London Borough of Haringey, brought all Harringay under the control of a single unit of local governance for the first time in more than a thousand years. On many of the roads in West Harringay, it is still possible to see the old Tottenham - Hornsey boundary where the paving stones give way to tarmacked pavement. The old parish / borough boundary markers are also still in place on some roads. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries (Civil)[edit | edit source]
Please note that the new Borough of Haringey has disbanded management of the cemeteries within its boundaries. The cemeteries are now managed by a private company, Dignity Funerals Ltd. The following information identifies what is known about all cemeteries in the Borough.
Wood Green Cemetery
Wood Green, London, Old Postal Code N22
Phone: 020 8363 8324
White Hart Lane
Tottenham, London, Old Postal Code N17
Phone: 020 8363 8324
Enfield Cemetery and Crematorium
Great Cambridge Road
Enfield, London EN1 4DS
Phone: 020 8363 8324
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Parishes[edit | edit source]
St Benet Fink
London, N17 6BH
Phone: 020 8888 4541
St John the Baptist
Great Cambridge Rd
London, N17 8LP
Phone: 020 8808 4120
London N17 7AA
St Paul the Apostle
60 Park Ln
London N17 0JR
Phone: +44 20 8808 7297
Tottenham, London N15 4GZ
Phone: +44 20 8801 3021
St Philip the Apostle
London N15 4HJ
Church of the Good Shepherd
London N17 9HG
Phone: +44 20 8808 6644
London N15 5JH
Phone: +44 20 8211 8710
St Mary the Virgin
4 Lansdowne Rd
London N17 9XE
Phone: +44 20 8808 6644
Non Conformists[edit | edit source]
- Church of Destiny
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
- High Cross URC
- Jehovah's Witnesses
- Roman Catholic
- Rhema Word church
- Salvation Army
- Seventh Day Adventist
There are a number of communities of non Christian religions including the following:
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the UK government from July 1837 to the present day. Prior to that, the only available records were those kept by the ecclesiastical bodies.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Occupations[edit | edit source]
The Haringey BOrough is home to a number of professional and amateur sporting groups. Tottenham Hotspur Football Club, currently in the FA Premier League, play at White Hart Lane, which is located in the borough on Tottenham High Road. The borough also has two Non-League football clubs, Haringey Borough F.C. and Greenhouse London F.C., who both play at Coles Park.
London Skolars are a rugby league team that compete in Kingstone Press League 1. They play at New River Stadium in Wood Green, Haringey. The annual Middlesex 9s rugby league tournament also takes place at the New River Stadium.
The borough's ice hockey team, the Haringey Greyhounds, currently play at Alexandra Palace. Alexandra Palace has also hosted other events including the PDC World Darts Championship and a number of Boxing events.
In the business sector, Haringey offers a plethora of occupational opportunities. In 2016, there were 12,150 businesses in Haringey employing a total of 66,000 people. This accounted for 1.3% of all employment in London.
Haringey's economy is dominated by small businesses with 93.9% of businesses employing fewer than 10 people.
The main sectors of employment in Haringey are:
Wholesale and Retail trade, and Retail and wholesale distribution -– 18.2% Health and social work - 19.0% Real estate, renting and business activities - 15.3% Education - 12.18% Manufacturing - 8.3% Public administration - 6.8% Health and social work – 10.6% Accommodation & Food Service activities -– 9.1% Professional, Scientific & Technical activities - 7.6% Administrative and Support Service activities - 6.8% Transportation & Storage – 6.1% Manufacturing – 4.5% Public administration & Defense; Compulsory Social Security – 4.5% Construction - 4.5% Manufacturing - 4.5% Arts, Entertainment and Recreation – 4.5% Information & Communication – 3.8% Real estate activities - 3% Financial & Insurance activities – 1.1% Water supply, Sewerage, Waste management & Remediation activities – 0.6% Other Service activities – 3% Source.
The principal shopping areas in the borough are Wood Green and Turnpike Lane, Muswell Hill, Crouch End, Harringay and Tottenham Hale. Haringey is situated within the growth corridor connecting London with Stansted (major airport), Cambridge (University and associated employment opportunities) and Peterborough (General light industry).
Societies[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Harringay ," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harringay#History, accessed 4 July, 2018.
- Wikipedia contributors, "London Borough of Haringey ," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/London_Borough_of_Haringey#History, accessed 4 July, 2018.
- Wikipedia contributors, "London Borough of Haringey" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/London_Borough_of_Haringey#Economy, accessed 5 July, 2018.