Hesby Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
The printable version is no longer supported and may have rendering errors. Please update your browser bookmarks and please use the default browser print function instead.


Guide to Hesby, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hesby Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Stavanger
Amt 1689-1919 1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt,
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Fylke 1919-Present Rogaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Finnø
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Finnø
Fogderi Ryfylke
Sorenskriveri Ryfylke
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Hesby kyrkje.jpg
  • Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

See Finnøy

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records for the years 1666-1795 are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial districts in Rogaland county.

For 1786-1876 the records are in the Ryfylke judicial district.

The clerical probates are found in Ryfylke deanery in Rogaland county, Norway. They are for the years 1786-1807.

Farm Book[edit | edit source]

Bjørkvik, Halvard and Næss, Hans Eyvind, "Finnøy: gard og ætt", Finnøy]: Finnøy kommune, c1993- Contents: b. 1. Gardane på sørdelen av Finnøy -- b. 2. Gardane på nord delen av Finnøy -- b. 3. Gardene på Fogn, Talgje og Fisterøyane -- b. 4. Sjernarøy 1: gardar på Ombo, Hidle, Bjergøy, Aubø og Kyrkjøy / Hans Eyvind Næss -- b. 5. Sjernarøy 2: gardar på Kyrkjøy, Tjul, Talgje, Helgøy og Ombo / Hans Eyvind Næss - 948.31/F1 D2b 5 vols plus index. FHL INTL Book

Of special interest is the history and genealogy of the Toreson family of Sør-Talgje in Rogaland, Norway. Includes histories and genealogies of related families on other farms in Rogaland county, ca. 900 to ca. 1600.

Engen, Sigleif, "Lagmannsætta: gard Toreson ætta frå Sør-Talgje i Rogaland", [Stavanger] : S. Engen, 1984 948.31/F2 D2e v. 2 pt. 1 supp. FHL INTL Book

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

4 Beidet, 5 Berge, 31 Bø,

27 Faa, 27 Faaberget, 13 Flesje,

28 Guldhaug,

26 Haga, 22 Haredalen, 25 Hausken, 15 Hesby,

26 Judeberg,

6 Kingestad, 2 Kvamme,

7 Ladstein indre, 19 Lande nedre, 29 Langeland, 24 Lausnes,

20 Mjølsnes nedre,

1 Naaden, 17 Nordbø, 3 Nærland,

30 Opsal,

14 Præstegaarden,

4 Relstad, 22 Rode,

35 Selvaag, 23 Spanne, 12 Steinnes, 32 Sæbø, 10 Sæveim,

34 Trevland,

33 Varland, 16 Vestbø, 28 Vigen, 11 Vignes nordre

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names