Kirton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Kirton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Kirton Holy+Trinity Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1616|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
KIRKTON (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Southwell, South-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 2¾ miles (N. E. by E.) from Ollerton. There is a place of worship for Baptists.
Kirton Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish which included Willoughby; the village and civil parish of Kirton is part of the newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire .Kirton Wikipedia
The Southwell and Nottingham Church History project are researching the church and parish history Kirton Holy Trinity
The parish church of Holy Trinity has been designated as a grade II* listed building British Listed Building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Kirton Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|KIRTON PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1538-1963 Marriages 1538-1959 Burials 1539-1904 Bishop’s Transcripts 1616-1838
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kirton
Kirton - Holy Trinity. Transcription of Memorial Inscriptions inside and outside the church, dating from 1766 giving surname, given names, date of death and age at death. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 91, pages 29-31, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Kirton in GENUKI: Kirton
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..