Spotted Tail Indian Agency (South Dakota)
United States American Indians South Dakota Indigenous Peoples of South Dakota Spotted Tail Indian Agency (South Dakota) Guide to Spotted Tail Indian Agency (South Dakota) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency[edit | edit source]
Spotted Tail’s band of Brulé Sioux
History[edit | edit source]
The Spotted Tail Agency was the successor to the Whetstone Agency. It received its name from the leader of the band of Brulé Sioux which it served. In 1878, the agency was moved to a location on Rosebud Creek near its confluence with the South Fork of the White River and the name was changed to the Rosebud Agency.
Agents and Appointment Dates[edit | edit source]
Edwin A. Howard 1873, Lt. M.C. Foot 1876, Lt. A. C. Paul 1876, Lt. Horace Neide 1876, Lt. J.M. Lee 1877, William J. Pollock 1878, Cicero Newell 1879, John Cook 1880
Records[edit | edit source]
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
The records of the Spotted Tail Agency are part of the Rosebud Agency. Many of the earlier historical records have been moved to the Central Plains Regional Archives of NARA at Kansas City.
Letters received by the Office of Indian Affairs from the Spotted Tail Agency, 1875-1880, have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M234, Rolls 840-845. Copies are available at the National Archives and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm roll numbers 1661570 thru 1661575).
Records Available through the Family History Library[edit | edit source]
- 1877 Census and marriage records. FHL Film:1012647
- Vital Records Marriage 1847-1878.FHL Film: 1012661 items 5 and 6
- Reports of Inspection of the Field Jurisdictions of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1873-1900 have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of Microcopy Number M1070. The reports for Spotted Tail Agency, 1876-1880, are on roll 51 of that Microcopy set. Copies are available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm roll number 1617724).
References[edit | edit source]
- Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974, pp. 167-168.
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
- Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
- Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
- Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
- Marquette University. Guide to Catholic-Related Records in the Midwest about Native Americans.
- Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online