Tranøy Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
The printable version is no longer supported and may have rendering errors. Please update your browser bookmarks and please use the default browser print function instead.

Guide to Tranøy, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Tranøy Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms
Region add here
Prestegjeld Tranøy
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Tranøy
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri Senjen
Skipreide add here



Church Records[edit | edit source]

Tranøy clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Tranøy, Stonglandet, Dyrøy and Sørreisa. Records begin in 1744.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegian headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.


Census Records:[edit | edit source]

  • Vicar's Census 1664-1666, no. 36: Lofoten and Vesterålen deanery, Senja deanery and Troms deanery Digital Archives


  • Bailiff's Census 1664-1666, no. 20: Modern Nordland county, modern Troms county and modern Finnmark county Digital Archives



  • Ekstraskattemanntallet 1763 Senja fogderi. The 1763 tax census for Senja fogderi includes the parishes of Astafjord, Trondenes, Kvæfjord, Bjarkøy, Lenvik, Hillesøy, Torsken, Tranøy, Berg and Mefjord and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.



  • Folketellinga 1865 for Tranøy (Troms). The 1865 census index to Tranøy is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.




  • Folketellinga 1900 for Tranøy (Troms). The 1900 index to Tranøy is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.



Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1706-1877 Senja judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Eriksen, Hans Kristian: Fra veidemann til fiskarbonde: bygdebok for Dyrøy, Sørreisa og Tranøy.

Vol 1: collected source material.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

12 Aa,

36 Baardsletten, 5 Betholmen, 26 Bryggerhaugen vestre,

14 Dragøen,

16 Eidet, 4 Einemoen, 4 Espenes,

1 Forstrand, 15 Frovaag,

12 Grønvik,

23 Halvardslien, 30 Hellemoen, 10 Hofsøen,

32 Jonsgaard,

16 Laneset, 1 Lavik, 8 Lekangen,

2 Mobakken nordre,

22 Ottemoen,

31 Paalsrud,

37 Rubbestad,

4 Seljebakken, 19 Skatvik, 34 Solli, 11 Stanglandshals, 9 Stangnes, 4 Storhaugen, 33 Stormoen, 11 Strømsneset, 28 Svanelvdalen,

24 Torslien, 25 Torsmoen, 18 Tranøen,

6 Valvaag nordre, 20 Vangsvik, 17 Vasjorden, 21 Viken,

35 Øverli

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Jacobsen, Judy: Norwegian connections: from Arctic Fjord to American Prairie. Jens Severin Jakobsen was born 6 July 1874 in Stonglandseidet, Senja Island, Norway.  His parents were Jakob Andreas Pedersen (1843-1904) and Hanna Kristine Pedersdatter (1843-1918).  He married Eline Karoline Ingebrigtsen (1891-1956) 4 Januar 1909 in White Earth, Ward county, North Dakota.  They had nine children. Ancestors, descendants and relatives lived mainly in Norway, North Dakota, Minnesota, Nebraska, and Montana.

FHL 929.273 J157

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names