Tromsø Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
The printable version is no longer supported and may have rendering errors. Please update your browser bookmarks and please use the default browser print function instead.

Guide to Tromsø, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

PARISH NAME
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms
Region add here
Prestegjeld N/A
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag N/A
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri N/A
Skipreide add here



Church Records[edit | edit source]

Tromsø clerical district contains parish registers from Tromsø parish which included the parishes of Balsfjord until 1856 and Tromsøysund until 1860.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegain headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

  • Christenings, 1753-1907, 1915-1925
  • Confirmations, 1749, 1753-1906, 1918-1925
  • Engagements, 1753-1800, 1836-1838
  • Banns, 1838-1883, 1886-1915
  • Marriages, 1753-1906
  • Burials, 1753-1907
  • Vaccinations, 1838-1868
  • Removals and arrivals, 1821-1919


Digital images of the church books are available at Digitalarkivet.


Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Bailiff's Census 1664-1666, no. 20: Modern Nordland county, modern Troms county and modern Finnmark county available online Digitalarkivet.


  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666The 1664-1666 clerical census for Tromø include the parishes of Tromsø, Helgøy, Karølsøy and Skjervøy and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Also available online Digitalarkivet.


  • Manntall 1701: optatt av fogderi, sorenskrivere og sogne prester ifølge kongebrev av 26 Juli 1701The 1701 census for Tromsø is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Also available online Digitalarkivet.


  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge.  The 1801 census for Tromsø include the parishes of Tromsø, Balsfjord and Tromsøysund and is available on microfilm and microfiche at the Family History Library.  Also available in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet.


  • Folketellingen 1815, bind 3: Tromsø stift og byene, 1815, s. 16. Engeløya fjerding available online at Digitalarkivet.


  • Folketelling Tromsø 1801 og 1875.  The 1801 and 1875 census for Tromsø city has been extracted and is avaiilable in a book at the Family History Library Call no. 948.452 X22f.


  • 1845 folketelling for Tromsøysund, Balsfjord og Malangen i Tromsø prestegjeld (Troms).  The 1845 census for Tromsø clerical district include the parishes of Tromsø, Tromsøysund, Balsfjord and Malangen and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet.


  • Folketellinga 1865 for Tromsø (Troms)The 1865 index census for Tromsø is available on microfiche at the Famiy History Library.



  • Folketelling 1885 for the city Tromsø (Troms). 1he 1885 city census for Tromsø is available online at Digitalarkivet


  • Folketelling for Tromsø (Troms). 1891 census for Tromsø available online at Digitalarkivet


  • Folketellingen 1900 for Tromsø (Troms). An index of the 1900 census for Tromsø is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.



Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Stennett, Ruth Ambrose Ogg, 1912: Ogg & Holmboe.  The emigrant ancestor, Alexander Ogg (1746-1799), came from the north of Ireland to Maryland in 1770. His family came originally from Scotland.  He was married to 1. Susan ca. 1772; 2. Jane Hellen in 1781; and 3. Frances Skinner of Calvert Co. Maryland in 1784.  He had five children.  He died in Monongahela River area in West Virginia while enroute to Ohio. Lon Allen Ogg (1884-1963), son of Albert Washington Ogg and Edna Dudley, was born in Solsberry, Indiana, and died in Missoula, Montana. He married Ingeborg Holmboe (1880-1922), daughter of Even Marenus Holmboe and Maren L. Hersleth, 1912.  She was born in Oslo, Norway.  Even Marenus Holmboe (1842-1922) was born in Tromsø, Norway.  He married Maren Louise Hersleth, daughter of Hans Peter and Helene Petersdatter Hersleth, 1872.  They immigrated to America ca. 1883 and lived at first in Minneapolis, where they had two more children born to them, then moved to Blooming Prairie, a town in southern Minnesota.  They had ten children all together.

FHL 929.273 A1

Available through the FamilySearch Catalog

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1690-1866 Tromsø judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.